"Reason is always a kind of brute force; those who appeal to the head rather than the heart, however pallid and polite, are necessarily men of violence. We speak of 'touching' a man's heart, but we can do nothing to his head but hit it." --G.K. Chesterton

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Celebrating the Spirit of our Community

The Spirit of Community Awards, presented by the Society for Community Development, were handed out last night in conjunction with the Taste of Tri-Cities event. You'll likely read about the awards in local newspapers over the next few days, but I'd like to use this space to give the deserving winners some more-immediate recognition.
In the Arts and Culture category, Helen Daniels was the winner (Theatrix was also nominated).
Community Action: the Soroptomists (Vickie-Marie Ayers, Claudette Friesen and Barb Hobson were other nominees).
Community Volunteerism: Ron Curties (Terry Towner, Anne Lodge, Michael Simms, Jonathan Ho, Jennifer Lee).
Environment: Vanessa LeBourdais (no other finalists).
Neighbour to Neighbour: Chrissy Duncan (no other finalists).
Youth: Best Buddies, the youth leadership group from Dr. Charles Best High School, pictured above (other nominees were My Lynn Quan and Jade Wong).
Douglas College Lifetime Leadership Award in honour of Myrna Popove: Diane Thorne (John Wolff was the other nominee).
Congratulations to all, and a special tip of the hat to singer-songwriter Joyelle Brandt, judges Johanne Dumas, Lisa Landry and Brad West, Master of Ceremonies Wim Vander Zalm and SCD chair Cathy Burpee.

No comments:

Post a Comment